Kudos to You!


Rob Whitnell, who has taught Chemistry at Guilford College since 1994, was on the editorial team for a special issue of the Journal of Chemical Education with the theme "New Visions for Teaching Chemistry Laboratory." Read more.

Nick Roster of Northern Michigan Collee has earned the Imogene Wise Faculty Excellence Award. Selected by a student committee, Roster was praised for his his innovative exams that apply knowledge to real case studies.

The POGIL Project team earned a gold award from College and University Public Relations & Associated Professionals "CUPPIE" for its 2022 Community Report "Planting Seeds for a Sustainable Future."

Melissa Van Alstine-Parris of Adelphi University, was promoted to Chemistry Department Chair.

Christopher Jang, York University, earned the school's Faculty of Science Excellence in Teaching Award after converting a converting molecular biology labs at York University to a POGIL-based CURE. Read more at this link.

Kristen Drury of William Floyd High School earned the 2022 Nichols Foundation High School Teacher Award.


Neal MacDougall of Cal Poly was awarded a Fall 2022 Academic Programs Section Innovative Teaching Award from the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities.

Jessica Johnston, associate professor and chair of chemistry at Westminster College, was chosen as the recipient of the Outstanding Chemistry Educator at an Undergraduate Serving Teaching Institution by the Salt Lake Section and Central Utah Section of the American Chemical Society. 

Andi Martin, associate professor of chemistry at Widener University, received the university's 2022 "Fitz Dixon Innovation in Teaching Award."

Nick Roster of Northwestern Michigan College for being featured in the Traverse City Eagle for his work on equity grading in his anatomy & physiology classroom.

Shawn Simonson of Boise State University was named a fellow in a pilot program that brough the Higher Education Academy from the United Kingdom to the United States. 

The POGIL Project team earned a bronze award from College and University Public Relations & Associated Professionals "CUPPIE" for its 2021 Community Report "Ripple Effects."

Nikita Burrows of Monmouth University, received a POGIL grant to do research on Student Perceptions of POGIL Environment and Process Skills. 

Rick Moog, Patricia Campbell, and Clif Kussmaul, were awarded an IUSE-ESL grant for Scaffolding and Tools in Guided Inquiry Learning (STIGIL).

Jennifer Lewis, University of South Florida, earned the 2022 ACS Award for Achievement in Research for the Teaching and Learning of Chemistry, sponsored by the ACS Exams Institute.


Marty Perry, selected as the 2021 awardee of the E. Ann Nalley Regional Award for Volunteer Service due to his significant volunteer contributions while in the Southwest Region of ACS. 

John Farrell, one of the founders of The POGIL Project, was named the recipient of the Baldwin Wallace Alumni Merit Award, the highest honor conferred on a graduate of the university.

Get Featured

If you or anyone you know in our community has won or received an award, share the news with us at marcy.dubroff@pogil.org to be featured in our upcoming newsletter!

More Kudos

Renée Cole, University of Iowa, professor of chemistry, was named the recipient of the 2021 Collegiate Teaching Award.

Laura Trout, Lancaster Country Day School and The POGIL Project, earned the 2021 DivCHED Award for Excellence in High School Teaching from MARM.

Maria Ayala, The POGIL Project Senior Student Intern, recognized as a runner up of the Student Employee of the Year 2021 at Franklin & Marshall College

Michael Bruno received the 2021 UNC Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching. https://www.ncssm.edu/

Brian Gilbert was named Edith Green Distinguished Professor at Linfield College

Marty Perry, a chemistry instructor at Mount St. Mary Academy, has been named a recipient of the 2021 Stephens Award by The City Education Trust. http://mtstmary.edu/msm-chemistry-teacher-wins-stephens-award/

Jamie Schneider, University of Wisconsin-River Falls Department of Chemistry, was honored by Wisconsin Society of Science Teachers with the 2021 Excellence in Science Teaching Award. https://www.wsst.org/award-winners

Craig Teague, Professor of Chemistry at Cornell College, has been named associate dean beginning this summer.