Previous Winners of the PEACH Award


Nominations for the 2025 Award will be accepted until Sept. 16, 2024

Criteria for selection include (but are not limited to):

  • Attended first POGIL Project event no earlier than Jan. 1, 2015.
  • Has advanced the goals of The POGIL Project as defined by its strategic plan.
  • Demonstrates an exceptional level of enthusiasm for student-centered learning and POGIL in particular.
  • Has demonstrated some form of Project leadership (but has not served on the Steering Committee).
  • Has actively participated in disseminating POGIL.
  • Other service to The Project which could include (but is not limited to) facilitation at workshops; authorship of activities; participation in grant proposals.

Peach Awards 2019

Application Requirements

Individuals may be nominated in the form of a letter (no more than 3 pages) that should focus on the candidate's contributions to and effectiveness in meeting the criteria listed aboveCurriculum vitae (no more than 3-4 pages) should be included and, where appropriate, a list of honors, awards and publications.  Seconding letters (up to 1 page each) may also be included: these should show the impact of the nominee's work on furthering the work of The POGIL Project and attest to the influence of the individual in their respective fields.  These seconding letters (up to three) can come from members of the outside community, students, supportive department chairs, deans or colleagues. If you have written a letter of nomination or seconding letter, you may not be involved in the selection process for The Peach Award. Additionally, the Director/Associate Director/Chair of the Steering Committee/Members of The POGIL Project Board of Directors are precluded from writing nominating or seconding letters.  

If a nominee is not selected, their nomination will remain the pool for the next five years.

Nominations will be taken until Sept. 16, 2024 and can be sent to Marcy Dubroff, Associate Director, The POGIL Project, Box 3003, Lancaster, PA  17604-3003 or via email at marcy.dubroff@pogil.orgNomination materials should not exceed 10 pages. Questions about the award or the nomination process should be directed to Marcy Dubroff.

The POGIL Project Steering Committee will determine the award winners at its fall meeting and the awardees will be notified no later than January 2025.

Kristen Drury (right), recipient of the 2019 POGIL PEACH Award (secondary) with Project Director Rick Moog .

Chris Mayfield (middle), recipient of the 2019 POGIL PEACH Award (post-secondary) with Project Director Rick Moog (left) and Clif Kussmaul of Green Mango Consulting (presenter).

Past winners


Tammy Pirmann 
Springfield Township
Tricia Shepherd
 St. Edward's University


Patrick Brown
East Tennessee State University
Urik Halliday
Von Steuben Metropolitan Science Center


Michael Bruno
North Carolina School of Science & Mathematics
Kristin Plessel
University of Wisconsin-Rock County


Kristen Drury
William Floyd HS
Chris Mayfield
James Madison University


Stephanie O'Brien 
Commack HS
Heather Wilson-Ashworth 
Utah Valley University


Ashley Hill
Fullerton Union HS
Melissa Reeves
Tuskegee University


Andy Aspaas
Anoka-Ramsey CC
Siobhan Julian
 Webster Schroeder HS


Courtney Macdonald 
POGIL Enthusiast
Joan Roque 
University of Puerto Rico - Cayey


Amy Steele 
Cornerstone Christian School
Kayla Heffernan 
University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg